Dr. Eastridge, male in a suit, handing a male student an award while shaking hands

April and May are full of celebrations, fun activities, end-of-year testing and lots of evenings recognizing our graduating seniors. To begin the festivities, South Harrison Community School Corp. hosts their annual Academic Awards Banquet featuring a full catered meal, keynote speaker, individual award and swag bag. The top 20 percent of Corydon Central and South Central’s graduating class along with their families are invited to attend and be honored for their academic achievement. 

This year, former New Middletown Elementary student and Corydon Central High School graduate Bailey Gorin, delivered the keynote address. Bailey graduated in 2012 and from there she has completed a Bachelor in Science in Aviation Management and Unmanned Aircraft Systems at Indiana State University. Currently residing in San Antonio Texas with her fiancé, she has built over three thousand hours of flight time allowing her to achieve her dream job, as a First Officer on the Airbus A300 at UPS Airlines.

Bailey spoke on the importance of mentorship and how seeking out a mentor and prioritizing mentoring others yourself is important to grow in your career. She also stressed the importance of making positive decisions, because every choice can either help you grow stronger or be a setback. She concluded her message with this thought:

As you embark on this new chapter of your life, remember to always stay true to yourself. Don’t let the expectations of others dictate your decisions. Don’t try to be someone you’re not. Embrace your strengths and weaknesses, your passions and interests. Because at the end of the day, your happiness and fulfillment in life is what truly matters.

Dr. Eastridge and School Board Vice President Larry Hauswald presented the following students with their awards:

Avery Adams, Wilmington College
Lydia Allen, Undecided
Emma Applegate, University of Louisville
Isabella Boone, Indiana University Southeast
Anthony Clark, Undecided
Karys Collins, Jefferson Community & Technical College
Samuel Cox, University of Southern Indiana
Amirah Curry, Franklin College
Haley Drury, Indiana State University
Breanna Edwards, Hanover College
Logan Edwards, Indiana University Bloomington
Liberty Enlow, Indiana University Southeast
Maddison Franks, University of Southern Indiana
Charles Goss, University of Southern Indiana
Allie Harbaugh, Indiana University Southeast
Alexander Harmon, Purdue University
Bradley Hauswald, Hauswald Farms
Michael Heitkemper, Undecided
Levi Hill, University of Southern Indiana
Faith Houston, United States Army
Ethan Johnes, Knight School of Welding
Elijah Junga, Purdue University
Noah Junga Vincennes University
Aubrey Koons, Indiana University Southeast
Alexandra Liebert, Indiana University Bloomington
Coral Manley, Brigham Young University—Idaho
Chase Martin, Indiana Kentucky Ohio Regional Council of Carpentry Apprenticeship
Elayna McIntosh, Harrison County Parks Department
Cody Miller, Indiana University Southeast
Autumn Milliner, MedQuest College Lexington
Kylee Murray, University of Louisville
Bailey Orme, Indiana University Southeast
Audrey Oxley, Indiana University Bloomington
Taylor Perry, Purdue University
Brooklyn Robson, Indiana University Southeast
Abigail Russel, Brescia University
Jack Schmelz, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
Hunter Schmitt, Indiana University Bloomington
Karrah Schneider, University of Louisville
Zane Schreck, Bellarmine University
Jesse Sieberns, Undecided
Keaton Spray, University of Louisville
MaKayla Stewart, Indiana University Bloomington
Austin Vaughn, Undecided
Megan Wibbels, University of Southern Indiana
Mason Withers, Vincennes University
Hallie Yonkers, Indiana University Bloomington

A special thanks are extended to everyone who played a role in this event: Tim Bec 2 for catering, SHCSC administration team, Penny Smith and Anna Heinze for organizing the event details, Bailey Gorin and her family, and all who attended. Congratulations seniors and good luck with your future plans!